Schwerte Stadtmarketing

Branding, Claim Development, Corporate Design, Event Design, Logo Design, Strategy, Webdesign

Ruhr meets heart. Schwerte and Florida shape the new city marketing.

The city marketing in Schwerte, which has been in place since April 2019, is working on five major fields of action: In addition to business space management, strengthening the retail sector, and event support and planning, communication is also a central and important field of action.


Strategy.

In a project with a direct connection to the city and in contact with the citizens, the survey of the current cityscape is enormously important in order to assess the character of the new visual brand image. The corporate design had to be innovative, exciting & accessible, but not lose the character of the city or look top-down developed.

The strategic basis for the project was developed with representatives of the city, a specially formed design commission and the citizens themselves.

1. citizens’ survey

At the World Theater of the Street and the Pannekaukenfest, promotion teams paraded through the city, drawing attention to the “Schwerte is…” campaign with question cards and question sheets and motivating people to participate. At the same time, all other interested parties were able to participate in the survey online at schwerte-ist.de.

After completion of the survey, the participations were evaluated and flowed into the communication and brand development of the Schwerter city marketing.

2. expert workshop

Accompanying the citizens’ survey, “experts” from various prominent Schwerte institutions (city administration, public utilities, savings bank, advertising association, etc.) worked out the current and future desired image of the city of Schwerte.

Based on interviews and questionnaires, the first step was to compare and evaluate the parameters of the citizen and expert surveys. In a second step, the results of the different perspectives were used to jointly develop thematic fields for the perception and positioning of the city.

3. thematic fields

From the diverse values and attributes on the character of the city of Schwerte, four major themes could be summarized: Family, Home, Culture, Progress.

These thematic fields should describe the personality comprehensively and optimally and define the future external and internal perception of the city for citizens, offices, visitors, etc.

4. brand positioning

The four themes not only encompass the internal understanding of how the city is perceived, but also set the holistic tone of any form of communication in the steps that follow.

Basic visual elements (logo, corporate design), extended communicative result fields (website, campaigns, events) and also social communication were built on the elaborated positioning statements and brand core.


Our brand focus:

“Schwerte is the family-friendly and culture-loving Hanseatic city on the Ruhr. Thanks to its optimal location, Schwerte always has one leg in the center of the Ruhr metropolis and a view of the neighboring Sauerland region. Schwerte is not only familiar home, but likewise offers a future that is boldly shaped by the citizens and the city together.”



The new logo.

The combination of old & new elements were also the foundation and strategic basis for our development in the logo design. The new logo rearranges the elements of the old city logo and links the city’s distinctive architecture, such as the well-known leaning church tower, with the historic city coat of arms.


Design system & colors.

A strong brand color with reference to the city’s coat of arms, the Ruhr & nature as inspiration for the secondary colors and a modular design system result in an independent and easy-to-use design system.


“When I started in mid-April, I was aware that neither a corporate design nor different communication channels existed. However, city marketing without communication is unthinkable and therefore an urgent and professional issue to address. And that’s what we’re doing now.”

Michael Kersting / Manager Schwerte City Marketing



Digital

Large & authentic images combined with a simple usability & information structure. The city marketing website invites citizens to interact. A fillable event calendar, current offers and interviews or the business directory, the website serves as the first point of contact for information about current events and cultural programs in the city.

Implement in the cityscape and expand to other areas.

Through our long-standing cooperation with the city marketing, we continuously create event designs, merchandise & designs in the space.

All rights reserved by the individual photographers

Read more:
Homepage of the city marketing:

Story about the project:
Working with a design commission

Images Forum Innenstadt:
© Schwerte Stadtmarketing / Sebastian Becker


Weitere Projekte

Schwerte Stadtmarketing

Branding, Claim Development, Corporate Design, Event Design, Logo Design, Strategie, Webdesign

Ruhr trifft Herz. Schwerte und Florida gestalten das neue Stadtmarketing.

Das seit April 2019 bestehende Stadtmarketing in Schwerte bearbeitet fünf große Handlungsfelder: Neben dem Geschäftsflächenmanagement, der Stärkung des Einzelhandels sowie der Veranstaltungsunterstützung und -planung ist auch die Kommunikation ein zentrales und wichtiges Handlungsfeld.


Strategie.

Bei einem Projekt mit direktem Stadtbezug und im Kontakt mit den Bürger*innen ist die Erhebung des aktuellen Stadtbildes enorm wichtig, um den Charakter des neuen visuellen Markenbildes einzuschätzen. Das Corporate Design musste innovativ, spannend & zugänglich sein, durfte jedoch nicht den Charakter der Stadt verlieren oder von oben herab entwickelt wirken.

Die strategische Basis zum Projekt entstand mit Vertreter*innen der Stadt, einer eigens gebildeten Designkommission und den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern selbst.

1. Bürgerbefragung

Beim Welttheater der Straße und beim Pannekaukenfest zogen Promotion-Teams durch die Stadt, machten auf die Aktion „Schwerte ist…“ mit Fragekarten und -bögen aufmerksam und motivierten zur Teilnahme. Zur selben Zeit konnten sich alle weiteren Interessierten online unter schwerte-ist.de an der Umfrage beteiligen. 

Nach Abschluss der Umfrage wurden die Beteiligungen ausgewertet und flossen in den Kommunikations- und Markenaufbau des Schwerter Stadtmarketings ein.

2. Expertenworkshop

Begleitend zur Bürgerumfrage erarbeiteten „Expert*innen“ aus verschiedenen prominenten Schwerter Institutionen (Stadtverwaltung, Stadtwerke, Sparkasse, Werbegemeinschaft etc.) das aktuelle und zukünftig gewünschte Bild der Stadt Schwerte.

Anhand von Interviews und Fragebögen wurden im ersten Schritt die Parameter der Bürger- und Expertenbefragung abgeglichen und ausgewertet. Im zweiten Schritt wurden aus den Ergebnissen der verschiedenen Sichtweisen gemeinsam Themenfelder zur Wahrnehmung und Positionierung der Stadt erarbeitet.

3. Themenfelder

Aus den diversen Werten und Attributen zum Charakter der Stadt Schwerte konnten vier große Themenfelder zusammengefasst werden: Familie, Heimat, Kultur, Fortschritt.

Diese Themenfelder sollen die Persönlichkeit umfassend und optimal beschreiben und die zukünftige äußere und innere Wahrnehmung der Stadt für Bürger*innen, Ämter, Besucher*innen, etc. definieren.

4. Markenpositionierung

Die vier Themenfelder umfassen nicht nur das interne Verständnis zur Wahrnehmung der Stadt, sondern bestimmen auch in den folgenden Schritten den ganzheitlichen Ton jeder Form der Kommunikation.

Visuelle Basiselemente (Logo, Corporate Design), erweiterte kommunikative Ergebnisfelder (Website, Kampagnen, Events) und auch die soziale Kommunikation wurden auf den ausgearbeiteten Positionierungsstatements und dem Markenkern aufgebaut.


Unser Markenkern:

„Schwerte ist die familienfreundliche und kulturverliebte Hansestadt an der Ruhr. Durch die optimale Lage hat Schwerte immer ein Bein im Zentrum der Metropole Ruhr und den Blick auf das angrenzende Sauerland. Schwerte ist nicht nur vertraute Heimat, sondern bietet ebenfalls eine Zukunft, die durch die Bürger und die Stadt gemeinsam mutig gestaltet wird.“



Das neue Logo.

Die Verbindung von alten & neuen Elementen waren auch im Logodesign die Grundlage und strategische Basis für unsere Entwicklung. Das neue Logo ordnet die Elemente des alten Stadtlogos neu an und verknüpft die markanten Architekturen der Stadt, wie den bekannten schiefen Kirchturm, mit dem historischen Stadtwappen.


Gestaltungssystem & Farben.

Eine starke Markenfarbe mit Bezug zum Stadtwappen, die Ruhr & die Natur als Inspiration der Sekundärfarben und ein modulares Gestaltungssystem ergeben ein eigenständiges und leicht anzuwendendes Gestaltungssystem.


„Als ich Mitte April begonnen habe war mir bewusst, dass weder ein Corporate Design noch unterschiedliche Kommunikationskanäle vorhanden sind. Stadtmarketing ohne Kommunikation ist jedoch nicht denkbar und daher ein dringliches und professionell anzugehendes Thema. Und das machen wir jetzt.“

Michael Kersting / Leiter Schwerte Stadtmarketing



Digital

Große & authentischen Bilder in Verbindung mit einer einfachen Usability & Informationsstruktur. Die Website des Stadtmarketings lädt die Bürger*innen zur Interaktion ein. Ein befüllbarer Eventkalender, aktuelle Angebote und Interviews oder das Branchenverzeichnis, die Website dient als erste Anlaufstelle zur Information über aktuelle Geschehnisse und Kulturprogramme der Stadt.

Implementierung im Stadtbild und Ausweitung auf andere Bereiche.

Durch unsere langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Stadtmarketing entstehen fortwährend Eventgestaltungen, Merchandise & Gestaltungen im Raum.

Alle Rechte liegen bei den jeweiligen Fotografen

Zum Weiterlesen
Homepage des Stadtmarkting

Story zum Projekt:
Die Arbeit mit einer Designkommission

Bilder Forum Innenstadt:
© Schwerte Stadtmarketing / Sebastian Becker


Weitere Projekte